Having dietary limitations and food sensitivities during the holiday season can be difficult to navigate. Many classic holiday foods and drinks contain common allergens, such as wheat, dairy, nuts, and eggs. This dairy-free eggnog is also fully vegan, nut free, and gluten free. With all kinds of seasonal spices, it’s the perfect drink for curling up in front of the fireplace or with a good holiday movie!
What is eggnog made of?
Typical non-vegan eggnog is made from combining eggs, sugar, milk, cream, and seasonal spices such as cinnamon and nutmeg. Many people serve it with alcohol as well.
It’s clear that with egg and dairy as staple ingredients, traditional eggnog isn’t vegan. In this recipe, we use a combination of dairy-free milk, maple syrup, vanilla, and warming wintery spices. The result is a similar eggnog flavour and consistency, without the the dairy and egg.
Many vegan eggnog recipes also use nuts such as cashews to create a creamy mouthfeel – but this recipe is 100% nut free!
To make this homemade vegan eggnog creamy, we’ve instead opted to use full fat coconut milk. Not only is it more allergen-friendly, it also tastes great!
What does eggnog taste like?
The name ‘eggnog’ implies that this holiday beverage might taste eggy, like a breakfast meal. However, eggnog has a much sweeter taste rather than savoury. Many people describe eggnog as tasting like melted ice cream. It does usually contain vanilla, so vanilla ice cream is a close descriptor. However, there’s a bit more flavour complexity than just vanilla – this recipe in particular has nutmeg, cinnamon, and cardamom, plus a subtle hint of maple.
Should I drink vegan eggnog warm or cold?
This is a personal preference! I enjoy drinking this vegan eggnog cold without any added ice. However, you can also heat the eggnog up by adding it from the blender into a saucepan on the stove over medium heat until warm. It does make a wonderful drink after shovelling snow or ice skating – perfect for our Canadian winters (but great in ANY climate!)
How long does homemade vegan eggnog last?
This delicious vegan eggnog can last up to 1 week in the fridge. Be sure to store it in a covered container with a tight seal. I like to store mine in a large mason jar. Many beverage pitchers have open tops that are exposed to air, which isn’t as food safe for this eggnog.
Spiked Eggnog – Can I add alcohol to this eggnog?
Absolutely! While vegan eggnog tastes amazing on it’s own, you can add alcohol if you wish. I would suggest adding between half and one ounce of either brandy, whiskey, or spiced rum per 1 cup serving.
Homemade Non-Alcoholic Vegan Eggnog
- High Speed Blender
- 1 14 oz can full fat coconut milk
- 2½ cups oat milk or other dairy-free milk of your choice
- 4 tbsp maple syrup
- 1 tsp vanilla extract
- ½ tsp ground cinnamon
- ¼ tsp ground nutmeg
- ¼ tsp ground cardamom
- Add oat milk into a high speed blender. Open the canned coconut milk and scoop only the solidified coconut cream from the the can into the blender. Leave behind any liquid that has collected at the bottom of the can.
- Add remaining ingredients into the blender and blend on high until mixture is smooth and frothy. Serve chilled or warm it on the stove prior to serving. Enjoy!
- Optional: Add coconut whipped cream for an extra-creamy topper.